Archive for March, 2012

03/11/12
Paul Savage
tags:   ,

Will Jordan, Please F-Off


I hate spam. I hate when people put me on their newsletter list that I never subscribed to. I hate when SPAM wastes my time and the time of 300 other innocent people. PokerPromedia.com I hate you. Here’s an email response I sent Will Jordan from PokerPro Media

Will,

  1. Take me off your f’ing list.
  2. I’ve reported you to SPAM COP http://www.spamcop.net/ who will send a report to your host RackSpace about the unsolicited email
  3. Sending an email to 300 people on CC is just plain fucking stupid. What’s privacy these days ?
  4. I don’t give a damn about your magazine. If I wanted a newsletter I would have signed up. Shoving it down my throat won’t make me any more likely to buy it. Perhaps your company should hire someone to do some in-house training about email etiquette. Besides the unsolicited email aka SPAM you didn’t include an un-subscribe option and you didn’t include any concrete contact details.
  5. I did look at http://www.pokerpromedia.info/ (interesting that your .COM redirect to .INFO) 2004 called and they want their web design back.

P.S. for those on BCC (yes Will I used BCC to inform the other people on this list about my actions) , sorry about the extra email, but please do consider reporting Will’s email to SpamCop if you too didn’t subscribe to this type of email http://www.spamcop.net/
P.P.S. Comments welcomed on my blog post about this http://www.blackdog.ie/blog/dear-will-please-fuck-off/

Paul Savage

PokerPro Media’s Spam

And his crap email …

On Sun, Mar 11, 2012 at 6:10 AM, Will Jordan <xxxx@pokerpromedia.com> wrote:

Poker Pro Magazine prepares for online poker to be legal within the year by increasing its web presence through its online magazine and new websites.

Poker Pro Media’s four online magazines have topped the 86,000-subscriber mark, the company announced today. The four e-magazines – Poker Pro, Online Poker Pro, Poker Pro Canada, and Poker Pro Europe – serve the U.S., Canadian and European markets with poker news, features, profiles, pro tips and everything poker.

Poker Pro Media re-launched its websites in October 2011 and has been rapidly increasing traffic on a daily basis. They are considered the “go-to” destination for poker pros and amateurs alike.

“We are pleased with the performance of our websites and e-magazines,” said PPM Vice President Will Jordan. “Since the fallout from the major gaming websites leaving the U.S. market last year, we have ramped up our dedication to our websites and e-magazines.”

The e-mags are exact duplicates of the print editions of the Poker Pro family of publications, including all the popular features and professional design.

Editor-in-Chief John “Johnny Quads” Wenzel is supervising the e-magazines.

“With the continued success of our e-magazines and web traffic, we plan to increase our presence online and are gearing up for the full legalization of online poker in the U.S., which we expect within a year,” said Wenzel. “We are increasing our focus on Internet poker, not lessening it.”

The e-mags can be accessed at PokerProMagazine.com, OnlinePokerProMagazine.com, PokerProCanada.com, and PokerProEurope.co.uk. Just click on the buttons that say “Check out our e-magazine.”

For a free trial subscription, got to pokerpromagazine.com, click on “Check out our e-magazine,”

For information on advertising in Poker Pro e-zines or on one of the websites, contact Jack McAdoo xxx@pokerpromedia.com

Other thoughts

I just wonder why someone would think it’s a good idea to email people in such a manner. Judging from the number of bounced messages I got I think that this list is a rather old one. My guess is that someone copied a list of poker affiliates (I have a small poker forum that I run), and I probably got on some list by signing up somewhere. Still I never heard of ProPoker Media and certainly never subscribed to an email newsletter. So it’s still not right to use my email address for something that I might (but I’m not) interested in, plus I doubt you got my email address in a ‘legal’ manner.

Update : 13/03/2012 15:30 CET We seem to be linked to a ripoff report.
Update : 13/03/2012 16:00 CET Another ripoff report this time from someone calling themselves Will.

03/09/12
Paul Savage
tags:   ,

WordPress Comment Error


Earlier today I had a strange issue with my blog where comments weren’t coming through. It’s not like I get a  lot of comments but I noticed something was off with the emails the blog sends when a comment gets posted. Basically the details of the comment was blank. See here for a typical email :

Author :  (IP:  , )
E-mail :
URL    :
Whois  : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/
Comment:

Doing a bit more testing, I tried to post a comment myself, to see if it mattered if I was logged in or not. Sadly this didn’t make a difference. But I did notice that the URL that it was posting to was strange

/comment-page-/#comment-

After a bit of poking, and looking at the error log it was an issue with a corrupt table. The simple fix was that the wp_commentmeta had crashed, and you’ll need to run the repair procedure on the table.  Maybe you’ve just had this issue and you are lost for answers on how to fix it. Hopefully you’ll find this helpful.