03/11/12
Paul Savage
tags:   ,

Will Jordan, Please F-Off


I hate spam. I hate when people put me on their newsletter list that I never subscribed to. I hate when SPAM wastes my time and the time of 300 other innocent people. PokerPromedia.com I hate you. Here’s an email response I sent Will Jordan from PokerPro Media

Will,

  1. Take me off your f’ing list.
  2. I’ve reported you to SPAM COP http://www.spamcop.net/ who will send a report to your host RackSpace about the unsolicited email
  3. Sending an email to 300 people on CC is just plain fucking stupid. What’s privacy these days ?
  4. I don’t give a damn about your magazine. If I wanted a newsletter I would have signed up. Shoving it down my throat won’t make me any more likely to buy it. Perhaps your company should hire someone to do some in-house training about email etiquette. Besides the unsolicited email aka SPAM you didn’t include an un-subscribe option and you didn’t include any concrete contact details.
  5. I did look at http://www.pokerpromedia.info/ (interesting that your .COM redirect to .INFO) 2004 called and they want their web design back.

P.S. for those on BCC (yes Will I used BCC to inform the other people on this list about my actions) , sorry about the extra email, but please do consider reporting Will’s email to SpamCop if you too didn’t subscribe to this type of email http://www.spamcop.net/
P.P.S. Comments welcomed on my blog post about this http://www.blackdog.ie/blog/dear-will-please-fuck-off/

Paul Savage

PokerPro Media’s Spam

And his crap email …

On Sun, Mar 11, 2012 at 6:10 AM, Will Jordan <xxxx@pokerpromedia.com> wrote:

Poker Pro Magazine prepares for online poker to be legal within the year by increasing its web presence through its online magazine and new websites.

Poker Pro Media’s four online magazines have topped the 86,000-subscriber mark, the company announced today. The four e-magazines – Poker Pro, Online Poker Pro, Poker Pro Canada, and Poker Pro Europe – serve the U.S., Canadian and European markets with poker news, features, profiles, pro tips and everything poker.

Poker Pro Media re-launched its websites in October 2011 and has been rapidly increasing traffic on a daily basis. They are considered the “go-to” destination for poker pros and amateurs alike.

“We are pleased with the performance of our websites and e-magazines,” said PPM Vice President Will Jordan. “Since the fallout from the major gaming websites leaving the U.S. market last year, we have ramped up our dedication to our websites and e-magazines.”

The e-mags are exact duplicates of the print editions of the Poker Pro family of publications, including all the popular features and professional design.

Editor-in-Chief John “Johnny Quads” Wenzel is supervising the e-magazines.

“With the continued success of our e-magazines and web traffic, we plan to increase our presence online and are gearing up for the full legalization of online poker in the U.S., which we expect within a year,” said Wenzel. “We are increasing our focus on Internet poker, not lessening it.”

The e-mags can be accessed at PokerProMagazine.com, OnlinePokerProMagazine.com, PokerProCanada.com, and PokerProEurope.co.uk. Just click on the buttons that say “Check out our e-magazine.”

For a free trial subscription, got to pokerpromagazine.com, click on “Check out our e-magazine,”

For information on advertising in Poker Pro e-zines or on one of the websites, contact Jack McAdoo xxx@pokerpromedia.com

Other thoughts

I just wonder why someone would think it’s a good idea to email people in such a manner. Judging from the number of bounced messages I got I think that this list is a rather old one. My guess is that someone copied a list of poker affiliates (I have a small poker forum that I run), and I probably got on some list by signing up somewhere. Still I never heard of ProPoker Media and certainly never subscribed to an email newsletter. So it’s still not right to use my email address for something that I might (but I’m not) interested in, plus I doubt you got my email address in a ‘legal’ manner.

Update : 13/03/2012 15:30 CET We seem to be linked to a ripoff report.
Update : 13/03/2012 16:00 CET Another ripoff report this time from someone calling themselves Will.

10 Responses to “Will Jordan, Please F-Off”

  1. colm colm

    I was on his spam list, never heard of his mag before either but I got a big chuckle from your reply WP

  2. Dominik Dominik

    Qoute: “2004 called and they want their web design back”

    Made my day :D

  3. Yessenia Yessenia

    I see your angry, I have spoken to Will, that e-blast was to go out to over 50,000 opt in media contacts through our opt in email blast. We apologize to you Paul, although creating a blog like this is inappropriate and immature, I have removed you from our list personally. Any further defamation or slander will not be tolerated. We are at every trade show event, and will be happy to apologize to you in person, if that means more.

  4. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    Dear Yessenia, thanks for your reply & for removing me. I would love to know when I opted in to this list.

    Would you say putting 300 people on CC on an email, and thus sharing their identity with the rest of the list is appropriate & mature ?

  5. Abban Abban

    Unsolicited marketing emails are liable for a fine up to €5000 for each unsolicited email address on the list (http://dataprotection.ie/viewdoc.asp?DocID=607).

    I wonder how many of the 300 people are actually signed up to it.

  6. Conor Maguire Conor Maguire

    I was also on this list, and have no opt-in recollection. I recall someone accidently sending another mail to a bulk CC list recently – possibly Paddy Power affiliates. Suspect these people have robbed from there. Certainly, would like to know where my email address was obtained.

    2004? That was generous of you. It looks like something from 1997. Loving the myspace badge but the ‘follow us on bebo’ link is sadly missing.

  7. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    Hi Conor, yes on Barry McCarthy from Paddy Powers on 4/21/11 title “Paddy Power Poker” did to pretty much the same list. I talked to Will yesterday, he apologised for the CC and said he bought the opt-in, he couldn’t say how he got it. I wish people would think twice before using these options. He also said I was using the list to promote myself, which for the record isn’t true. I’m not looking for work, which is stated on my homepage.

    Abban : Do you know if there have been any successful cases from Ireland to outside the EU ? I guess I must check is the SPAM an issue where the it comes from, or where it’s delivered to.

  8. Michele Michele

    I’m a bit confused.
    They sent you unsolicited email and admit that it was unsolicited etc.,
    You called them out on it and instead of apologising (or simply keeping their mouths shut) they’re now making spurious legal threats against you?
    Or am I missing something?

    Sounds a lot like the kind of rubbish I’ve had to deal with in the past: http://www.michele.me/blog/?s=spamming&submit=Search

    Michele

  9. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    That’s basically the long and the short of it Michele. They were a little heavy handed in their response to me, insinuating that I had an ulterior motive for doing this, i.e. that I was linked to the poker industry some how. I did get an apology, but they were not willing to make a statement on the blog here or on their website.

  10. Sean P Fullerton Sean P Fullerton

    Ha I know it’s not funny but I had a giggle at your letter of complaint ha. Don’t mince with your words anyway mate!!

Leave a Reply