07/18/08
Paul Savage

IrishInternetMarketing.com doesn’t have a clue


Today I was checking up on a bit of the competition, looking at this keyword [seo dublin]. I would guess the term SEO Dublin would be mildly competitive, and that companies in the top 5 would be on top of their game . But I was surprised to see again that there was one listing where google was saying that “This site may harm your computer” when you click on a link to IrishInterMarketing’s website.

My first reaction was  that of surprise and intrigue that this could happen to an IT services company.  So being  being the good  Samaritan, I decided to have a look at the site (disabling javascript first) to inform them  of the potential problem. Just remember that if Google flags your site like this, you won’t get any direct traffic.  Google will tell you to copy and past the URL at your own risk.   Visiting their site  I see that there is a n embedded javacript file inserted “optimised” META keywords tag from the domain adwnetw.com.

Now having an idea what the problem was, I was tried to use their contact form, but alas it was completely unusable, it appeared more to be for a sign-up form for an email list, rather than a contact form. Even if this was the form I needed, I couldn’t use it because there wasn’t a submit button anywhere to be seen !

Next I checked their lovely About Us page.

Besides the  fact that  there seems to be  major bugs in their HTML code, and resulting in a poor  rendering of their web page , I was able to find the contact number.  Then I gave the  Dublin  number a call (from Munich where I current am),  hoping to tell someone  that their website  has been compromised . Sadly all I got was the lovely screech of a  FAX machine.

Not wanting to try any other methods to contact this uncontactable souls, I gave up, and decided to pen another blog post instead. :D

8 Responses to “IrishInternetMarketing.com doesn’t have a clue”

  1. Cormac Cormac

    Paul, Richard Coen from WSI would seem to be the POC for that site.

  2. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    Thanks cormac, I’ve sent another email to him.

  3. Louie Louie

    Lol. Nice find. I wonder why is he not getting that fixed….

  4. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    Welll I guess it’s good news for your Louie, seeing as you are #4 on that list. So the longer he takes, the better for you! ;)

  5. Louie Louie

    Very true but I don’t think it’s a very popular search phrase…

  6. niall niall

    u a zep fan paul?
    does a browser actually run a script embedded in a KW meta tag?

    rgds
    niall

  7. Dacey Dacey

    Is there a way to put this on a trial basis?

  8. Paul Savage Paul Savage

    @niall : it should not run anything there AFAIK. Yes I am a bit of a led zeppelin fan .

    Hi Dacey, Thanks for your comment. I don’t really follow what you are saying here. What do you mean about a trail basis & for what service ?

    Paul

Leave a Reply